Charter Board History


The Frederick Board of County Commissioners selected nine members for the Frederick County Charter Board along with three alternates on Thursday, March 10, 2011.

Nine Appointed Charter Board Members and Alternate Members

Appointed:  Fred Anderson, Joan Aquilino, Debra Borden, Dr. Tom Browning, Ken Coffey, Jeff Holtzinger, Mayor James Hoover, Bob Kresslein, Rocky Mackintosh.  Alternate:  Doug Browning, Dana French, Earl Robbins

The Charter Board was authorized to create a charter for Frederick County to change the present form of government.  The Charter Board had up to 18 months to draft a charter for submission to the Board of County Commissioners and then for a referendum election by the voters of Frederick County.  The proposed charter was adopted by the voters on at the November 6, 2012 General Election. 

The Charter of Frederick County is a document that will change the present commissioner form of government to charter home rule government as of December 1, 2014.  The charter document defines the duties, power, rules, procedures, structure of local county government, and the rights of our voters/citizens.