Climate Emergency Mobilization Workgroup

CEMWG Portal Information Graphic Opens in new window

The Climate Emergency Mobilization Work Group is a joint Frederick County - Frederick City work group authorized by the County Council, the Mayor, and Board of Alderman through the Climate Emergency Resolutions adopted in 2020.

The Charge of the work group is to:

  1.  Consider four main Climate Emergency concerns of specific relevance to Frederick County and City:
  • Energy, Transportation and Buildings
  • Agriculture, Forestry and Sequestration
  • Health and Extreme Weather Adaptation and Resilience
  • Public Engagement and Education
  • Present a status report to the County Council and City Mayor and Aldermen on the progress of the Work group.
  1. Present a status report to the County Council, County Executive, City Mayor and Aldermen on the progress of the Work group six months after the first meeting. 
  1. Submit a final report to the County Council, County Executive, City Mayor and Aldermen, and to the public including legislative, administrative, and community recommendations to assist the County and City with meeting the goals of this resolution; 1) implement policy and legislative actions through the lens of climate change; 2) reduce county- and city-wide greenhouse gas emissions 50% from 2010 levels by 2030 and 100% no later than 2050, and employ efforts to safely draw down carbon from the atmosphere, 12 months after the first meeting.    
  2. Address questions from the County Council, City Mayor and Aldermen, and their representatives for up to eight weeks following report submission.
  1. Agendas
  2. Minutes
  3. Documents
  4. Resolutions

The CEMWG will meet the second and fourth Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m.

These virtual meetings will be open to the public.  To listen to the meeting, please dial 855-925-2801, enter meeting code 8007, enter *1 to listen.  If you would like to speak live during the public comment portion of the meeting, enter *3 to be placed into a muted queue.  The system will tell you when you may begin your 3-minute comment.

Beginning September 24, 2020, the meetings will be streamed live on Frederick County Boards and Commission facebook page.

Please send requests for interpreting services to at least 72 hours prior to the meeting.

Meeting Agendas

most recent / view all

Meeting Videos:

8/27/2020 - Password: CEMwg82720

9/10/2020 - Password: CEMwg91020

9/24/2020 - No password required

Agriculture, Forests and Land Management Subgroup

  • Tom Anderson
  • Karen Cannon
  • Patrice Gallagher
  • Erin Goodnough
  • Richard Jefferies
  • Matt Morris
  • Linda Norris-Waldt
  • Lisa Orr
  • William Reid
  • Taylor Roman
  • Barb Trader
  • Karen Russell
  • Paul Walker - Chair

Energy, Transportation and Buildings Subgroup

  • James Baker
  • David Berliner
  • Milton Dahl
  • Eric Daniels
  • Armando Gaetaniello
  • Joanne Ivancic
  • Christopher Izzo
  • Ron Kaltenbaugh - Chair
  • Susan Kunkel
  • Clement Ndifor
  • Carl Pritchard
  • Joel Rensberger
  • Robert Robey
  • Jerry Rusnock
  • Bill Steigelmann
  • Chris Voell
  • Bruce Zavos

Health, Weather Events and Resilience Subgroup

  • Ross Bradley
  • Darlene Bucciero
  • Vanessa Gress
  • Kerri Hesley
  • Faith Klareich
  • Joanna La Follette
  • Rob Magnien - Co Chair
  • John Punchak
  • Ingrid Rosencrantz
  • John Scherer - Co Chair
  • Kevin Sellner

Public Awareness and Outreach Subroup

  • Virginia Borda
  • Sonia Demiray - Co Chair
  • Katey Grogan
  • Andrea McCluskey
  • Ernest (J.P.) Muhly
  • Kathleen Rall
  • Joseph Richardson
  • Michelle Schaffer
  • Kristen Schultz
  • Shane Stewart
  • Rachel VanMetre
  • Kate Wilson - Co Chair
  • David Wolinsky