Veterans Advisory Council

Veterans Advisory Council

The Veterans Advisory Council serves as a conduit for information and resources for the county’s 17,000 veterans and their families who may need assistance furthering their education, finding employment, receiving counseling or finding other services.  

The Council collaborates with:  

  • Established military veteran oriented service organizations to evaluate, develop and promote new and existing programs and services for veterans and their families within Frederick County;  
  • Other county commissions, boards and councils, and county staff with regard to policies, programs, and concerns related to veterans’ interest; and 
  • The County Executive and County Council to develop and promote programs and services in the state and county related to the needs of veterans and their families.

The advisory council is comprised of seven voting members and seven non-voting members.  Voting members include: Maj. Daniel Campbell, USAF, Retired; Lt. Col. Sharon D. Jacko, USMC, Retired; CWO3 David P. Kaye, USA, Retired; Veterans Affairs Director Rachel Nachlas, Frederick Community College; Col. Fred Schumacher, USA, Retired; Capt. John Lynn Shanton, USN, Retired, and Frederick Wood, Sr., USN.

Non-voting members include: Director Michelle Day, Workforce Services; Veterans Administration – Fort Detrick – Community Based Outpatient Clinic Manager Doylette “Dee” Harrison, R.N.; Del. Carol Krimm, Maryland House of Delegates – District 3A; County Council Member Steve McKay; Assistant Vice President for Support Services Michael McLane, Frederick Memorial Hospital; Field Representative Robin Summerfield, Office of U.S. Sen. Ben Cardin, and Director Andrea Walker, Behavioral Health Services, Frederick County Health Department.

Public meetings are held on the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 6:30 p.m. in Winchester Hall's 3rd floor conference room.

Council Meeting Agendas
most recent / view all

Council Meeting Minutes
most recent / view all

For more information, contact Coordinator, Linda Bergofsky, Citizens Services Division, 301-600-1414 or via e-mail.

Contact Us

  1. Linda R. Bergofsky


    401 Sagner Avenue
    Frederick, MD 21701
    Fax 301-600-1636