2020 Sustainability Awards

The Frederick County Sustainability Commission is accepting nominations for its 2020 Sustainability Awards.  These awards recognize individuals and organizations in Frederick County that have made an outstanding contribution in helping the county advance sustainability efforts. Awards are based on demonstrated leadership, innovation and success in sustainability.

Awards are available to (a) Individuals (non-students), (b) Students/Student Groups, (c) Nonprofits and (d) Commercial Enterprises for efforts such as:

  • Energy efficiency
  • Renewable energy 
  • Air and water quality 
  • Reuse and recycle
  • Quality of life
  • And more…!

2020 Sustainability Awards Nomination Forms

Nomination forms are available to download here:  Individual (non-student)Student/Student GroupsNonprofit, Commercial Enterprise

Electronic submissions are preferred.  Email to: dashbacher@frederickcountymd.gov.  

Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on February 13, 2020

Winners of the 2020 Sustainability Awards will be recognized at the 9th Annual Green Homes Challenge Recognition Event on March 26, 2020.  

Questions?  Contact Dawn Ashbacher at dashbacher@frederickcountymd.gov or 301.600.6864.

2019 Sustainability Award Winners

County Executive Jan H. Gardner and Frederick County Sustainability Commission Chair Ronald Kaltenbaugh presented the 2019 Sustainability Awards to the following winners at the 8th Annual Green Homes Challenge Recognition Event:

Non Profit Category - The Housing Authority of the City of Frederick

Commercial Category - McClintock Distilling

Individual Category - Elizabeth McCook and Jim Smith, Urbana High School

Lifetime Achievement Sustainability Award - George Rudy (posthumously). 

 Click here for more information about the 2019 Sustainability Award winners and others from the past.